Hugo: Truly A Love Letter to Cinema

There’s nobody who embodies the magic of movies better than Georges Méliès. I just got around to watching HUGO, and I’m so very glad I did. Looking for some visual inspiration (it’s perfect for steampunk fans like me, after all!), I stumbled onto this post from the B+ Movie Blog. The pictures alone are beautiful enough that I wanted to share it with you. If you haven’t yet taken the time to see this movie, please do yourself a favor and see it.

B+ Movie Blog

This was originally going to be my 1,000th post. I was thinking of something to write up, and saw that the article I wrote about my favorite moments from the film was getting a ridiculous amount of traffic as compared to everything else (I guess because of the HD screenshots), so I figured, “Well, that would be fun to talk about how the film relates to film history and all of that, plus I can throw in a lot of screenshots, and make it like those Tron articles (which still get by far the most views on the blog, because people just link to all the pictures).” Basically — fun, and a calculated risk to boost traffic. Because if you can, why not?

So my plan was to write up an article with screenshots about, as the title says, Hugo and the history of the movies. Only, with me, nothing…

View original post 3,268 more words

2 thoughts on “Hugo: Truly A Love Letter to Cinema

  1. Pingback: A Local Exploration of the Magic of Movies | Exploring the Magic of Movies

  2. Pingback: A Local Exploration of the Magic of Movies | Psychic Joker Entertainment

Leave a Reply

